knitting as therapy.

 

imageAfter a 12 hour shift behind the headset, it is nice to come home and create something with my hands.  I enjoy watching my crafts take shape.  I revel in handling a finished thing and take comfort knowing that I can create Something beautiful and functional from nothing but sticks and string.

The man often looks at what I am doing and grumbles about not understanding the patience it must take, or the amounts of time I invest.  I don’t think he quite understands how much my hobbies allow me to quiet my mind.  Whether I knit, crochet, paint, build or refinish something, the process is therapy to me.

image

Occupying most of my time currently, is a test knit of The Marion Sweater, by Vera Sannon. If I can just steal away for a few more hours, the last sleeve will be done.

 

Author: 911knits

I'm a 911 operator in beautiful Alaska. After a full day of keeping my cool in the midst of the chaos, I like to relax. In the winter, my drug of choice is yarn. In the summer I prefer to be outside.

1 thought on “knitting as therapy.”

Leave a Reply

