Keeping it all Together

image

For me, first learning to knit was a frustrating process.  It always felt like between trying to man-handle the needles and keep the yarn under control, I was just one dropped stitch away from a complete mental break down.

At the time, there was no LYS near by, I had no knitterly friends willing to suffer through teaching me the ropes, and the only patterns available to me were the out-of-date ones that come for free at the local big-box craft store.  The yarn I picked was cheap acrylic.  My tension was so tight that the yarn actually squeaked over the cheap metal needles that came in my “learn-to-knit” kit.

Things have certainly come a long way, but the learning hasn’t stopped.  Never.

image

A large part of my decision to start my own blog was that I need a place to keep all of the little tips and tricks I pick up along the way together.  For example, on my latest project, The Marion Sweater test-knit, the pattern called for a new-to-me increase and decrease stitch: The KRL and KLL.  Thankfully, the designer, Vera Sanon, was kind enough to include a helpful link in the pattern and thanks to the amazing folks at knittinghelp.com, I was quickly on my way.

Next up on my project list?  My own increase and decrease sampler.

Author: 911knits

I'm a 911 operator in beautiful Alaska. After a full day of keeping my cool in the midst of the chaos, I like to relax. In the winter, my drug of choice is yarn. In the summer I prefer to be outside.

Leave a Reply

