Instant Gratification – sort of

Don’t get me wrong, I love knitting and everything about it.  It keeps my hands busy and my mind still.  For me, knitting is meditation.

It just takes forever, and every once in a while (okay, almost every week) I just need something fast.

Sometimes, I just need to start and finish a project in an hour or two.  Sometimes, I need splashes of vibrant color.  Sometimes, I need to see something take shape RIGHT NOW.

Enter paint.

cow1

My quaint little-ish town has a paint-your-own ceramics studio.  For a small shop fee plus the price of the piece, I can sit down in my own little corner of the world and create.

cow4

When I’m done, I leave my piece with the shop, and they throw it in the kiln for me.  I continue to be amazed at the difference the kiln makes.

Getting things back always feels just a little bit like Christmas.

cow3

 

Author: 911knits

I'm a 911 operator in beautiful Alaska. After a full day of keeping my cool in the midst of the chaos, I like to relax. In the winter, my drug of choice is yarn. In the summer I prefer to be outside.

1 thought on “Instant Gratification – sort of”

Leave a Reply

