False starts and new yarn

image

My stash is almost as out of control as my project pile.  I have balls of yarn stuffed into every single crevice and drawer and shelf and box in my closet.  It wasn’t always like this though.  I used to only buy yarn when I needed it for a specific project.  But as my project list grew, so did my stash.  Eventually, I started to forget why I bought this yarn or that one.  Now, it’s like having my own little yarn store.  Sort of. Except the store never has what you REALLY want.

 

When I caved in and started a new sweater project, I was pretty proud of myself.   The yarn I needed was in my stash!  I hastily grabbed a skein, a needle, and my lawn chair and sat outside with the new horse and dutifully knit my gauge swatch.  I felt like I had this whole sweater thing in the bag.

image

 

Sadly, it’s just not that easy.

image

Gauge just didn’t turn out right.  My stitches were spot on, but my damn row gauge was off by about one row per inch.  And the fabric was scratchy.  And I just didnt love the way it was starting to turn out.

So I did just what any self-respecting knitter would do.  I grabbed a beer and my debt card.  I ripped and I shopped.

image

Then, not to be one to be stuck with a regretful decision in yarn, I went shopping again the following day.

image

Poor Knit Picks hasn’t even had the time to pack my order and here I am busting in through my front door like I saved the day with ever newer new yarn.

image

Let’s try this again, shall we?

 

Author: 911knits

I'm a 911 operator in beautiful Alaska. After a full day of keeping my cool in the midst of the chaos, I like to relax. In the winter, my drug of choice is yarn. In the summer I prefer to be outside.

3 thoughts on “False starts and new yarn”

  1. What are you going to make with the Herriot yarn ? I made the shawl with it and it is one of my favourite project so far ! I am curious of what you will do with yours 🙂

    1. I’m making a sweater, but it is part of a mystery knit-along. I’ll be posting progress as the clues come out, or you can check out Vera Sannon’s group on Ravelry and join us!

  2. Hahaha I totally get you! I’m now at the stage when I’m trying to find projects I can use my stash for… So much effort 😂😂😂

Leave a Reply

