The Creative Blogger Award

When I decided to start blogging, it was really to help myself keep track of my projects, lessons learned, and give myself a creative outlet.

I’m touched that anyone at all decides to follow me, and I was speechless when Rene at periwinklepursuits thought enough of my little corner of the inter-webs that she nominated me for the Creative Blogger Award.  Thanks, Rene!  I’ve had a rough few weeks and you really made my day!

image

Here are the rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you and include a link to their blog.
  2. Share five facts about yourself.
  3. Nominate 15 – 20 bloggers and add their links.
  4. Notify the bloggers you included.
  5. Keep the rules in your post.

On to the fun facts…

  1.   I taught myself to knit a few years ago when I was staying up nights watching over my dying grandmother in a nursing home.  I still think of her when I see the cowl I was making.
  2. I have been a 911 operator for 14 long-ass years.  I have three CPR saves to my credit.  Some of those stories are bittersweet, but it’s why I still show up every day.
  3. If I go to long without spending time with my horses, the hubs says I turn into a crazy person.  Nobody wants that…
  4. I hate tomatoes.
  5. And spiders.  I really hate spiders.

I do follow some pretty amazing blogs.  One of my favorite things to do between calls on a slow night is catch up on my feed.  I’m constantly amazed at the talent and creativity out in this world of ours.  Here are my nominations:

  1. Glennaknits – this is the blog that introduced me to knitting blogs and a source of knitting inspiration.
  2. Yarn Harlot – how can you not love how real Stephanie Pearl-Mcphee and her never-fading sence of humor?
  3. Judyschickens – she saved the day last Chrismas with her easy cranberry pie recipe.  It is now a family favorite!
  4. Joeycake – great recipes and hilarious commentary.  I’ve been following her so long, I feel like we could be friends
  5. Untangling Knots — Andi is so creative and her blog posts are always colorful and interesting.  She’s also starting up a new online magazine.  Go check her out!
  6. Ontheneedles – full of great projects, tutorials, and interesting knitterly things!
  7. The Knitting Doctor – I love a blog that follows a variety of works in progress.  I got hooked on Lorette’s blog this winter during quiet grave shifts.
  8. The Knitting Samurai – if you are interested in a little knitting history, she’s done her research.  There is some fascinating stuff here, though it doesn’t look like she’s posted in a while.
  9. The Snail of Happiness – a sweet and colorful blog about knitting, and chickens and recently, a weekly post about things that make her happy.  …  And adorable knitted snails!
  10. Knitting Like Crazy – I’ve peeked in on this one for years.  Has been fun watching Jen evolve from knitter to designer. I hope to do the same one day!
  11. Limescented – posts full of some serious eye candy for this knitter.
  12. String Geekery – I’m not sure how she does it, but Naomi can turn a random word into a magical mathematical formula and charts it into interesting and beautiful lace.
  13. Knit the Hell Out – talented knitter and designer with a great eye for photographing her knits.   I love following along.
  14. The Applejack Blog – a lovely regular knitting blog filled with envious stash pictures, a few tips, and of course, knitting!

I hope you find these spaces as enjoyable as I do.  I’m off to knit!

 

 

Author: 911knits

I'm a 911 operator in beautiful Alaska. After a full day of keeping my cool in the midst of the chaos, I like to relax. In the winter, my drug of choice is yarn. In the summer I prefer to be outside.

Leave a Reply

